Search

Searching USERS

Export Page

 

Content Authoring provides basic workflow capabilities by allowing users to set a status against content as well as allowing them to assign content items to other team members for review and / or approval. Since these features are accessed from different Content Authoring screens, this tutorial serves as a common thread to tie together the various aspects of workflow.

Workflow on the Content Type form

The workflow status is displayed and can be set from the Content Type form.

Step 1: Create the Draft Content

The first step of the workflow is to create some content. The title of the content will default to the content type.

The first time you save a piece of content, the rename dialog is displayed, allowing you to choose the name. In this case we have chosen the name "Tutorial Example Banner". The content can be renamed at any time by choosing "Rename" from the Save menu on the right hand side of the window.

Once the content is saved, an initial workflow status of "Draft" is set and shown in the utility bar at the top of the window. 

Step 2: Set the Status

From a workflow status of draft, you can set the status (1) to something else, in this case to "In Review" (2). You can also opt to propagate the status change to all linked content (3).

Step 3: Assign to another user

You can assign the content item to another member of your team as shown here:

Step 4: From review to publishing

The exact path that a content item takes through various statuses and various assignees depends on who does what... and when. At any time you can see the status (or the status change for an unsaved asset) on the bar at the top of the screen, as shown below.

In this case the content is ready to review, so the status is changed to In Review.

When the status is changed to "In Review" and the content is saved, the status menu title is updated and a set of options become available to approve or reject the content. In this case the reviewer has checked the content and chosen to approve it.

Note that the options available to the user shown below include the "fast track" workflow, which allows a user to approve and publish content in one step, irrespective of the content's workflow status. In this example we have followed a standard workflow.

The content is now approved and the status menu title and colour is updated to reflect the change in status.

Once content is approved, the status menu will contain an option to Publish the content. When this is chosen, the content is published and available to be consumed.

The approver may also choose to reject content and clear the 'assign to' field to allow the content to be assigned to another user.

 Click here to to expand the content rejection flow...

 

The content status is updated on the status menu title to show that it has been rejected. Typically the content will then updated and the status set to back to In Review so that it can then be reviewed, approved and published.


Workflow in the Content Library

Workflow can also be managed from the Content Library.

In the Content Library you can use the various workflow-related "facets" to search for content items based on their workflow status, who they have been assigned to, who they have been assigned by, and what the last assigned date was. In this case we are searching for items whose status is "approved" and are created using the Tutorial Banner content type.

The workflow status icon on the top left of the tutorial banner card is set to green, indicating that the content has been approved. 

Clicking the workflow status will open the window showing the available workflow options. In this case we choose to publish the content and click 'Update' to make the content live.

The content is published and the library card is updated to reflect its new workflow status.

Additional workflow features

There are a number of options that make creating and editing content easier.

  • Save

    Save the content, refresh the workflow status and visualization if necessary and keep the window open. Enabled when the content has been modified since it was last saved.

  • Save and close

    Save the current content, close the window and return to the content library. This item is not shown if the content has not changed since last saved.

  • Save and Publish

    Saves and then publishes the content without closing the content editing window. If the content has not changed since last saved then this item is named Publish and will just publish the content.

  • Save As

    Create a new version of this content, including the same values for the fields (in this case headline and strapline) and the same assets

  • Save and create another

    Save and close the content. Create a completely empty form for this content type. In the case of content, for example a carousel, that is the "parent" to "child" content such as the individual carousel slides, "Save and create another" is only available for the child content.

    If the content has not changed since last saved then this item is just Create Another.

  • Rename

    Choose a new name for the content and save it.

When you choose Save As, a dialog is displayed to allow you to choose a new name for the content. You can also choose the folder into which the content is saved. Click the open and close arrow (as highlighted in the image below) to display a list of folders.

If the content creates links to other content, such as a carousel linking to the individual carousel slides, then you are shown a warning message reminding you that your copy is using the same linked content as the original item. If you continue then the new copy of the content is opened for editing with its workflow status set to "Draft".

Renaming and copying content in the Content Library

Content can also be renamed from the card contextual menu in the content library by choosing rename from the content's card contextual menu.

Copying content works in the same way as Save As.

 Click here for more details of Copy content...

Choose "Copy content" from the content card menu for the piece of content you want to copy.

Choose a name for the new copy of the content. You will be warned if the content contains references to other content.

You can choose the folder into which to save the content by clicking the open and close arrow icon.

A new copy of this content is added to the Content Library with the name that you have chosen.

 

 

  • No labels